Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Telephone Disruption

Please note all Ryerson phones will have their service disrupted for 5-10 mins at approx. 7:15am tomorrow (Thursday March 31st).

We apologize for any inconvenience.


Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Spring Letter to Residents


Please see attached link from the Manager of Student Housing Services, Chad Nuttall regarding residence survey data over the past six years from our students.

2010-2011 Spring Letter to Residents_1


Sunday, March 27, 2011

Ryerson Residence Appreciation Banquet

Ryerson Student Housing Services held their annual Residence Appreciation Banquet on March 26th, 2011 to recognize and thank all of the student leaders who contribute to residence at Ryerson. Award winners include:

Partner of the year awards are presented to individuals that each team created a strong partnership and bound with, and ensuring the team had achieved success in their position.

Academic Link Partner of the Year: Jeff Perea, Get Clear Program

Residence Advisor Partner of the Year: Shauna Bookal, Ryerson Athletics and Recreation

Residence Council Partner of the Year: Sean Carson, RSU

Residence Service Desk Partner of the Year: Emmanuel Tesoro, Black and McDonald Maintenance

Team Player of the year awards are presented to individuals on each team who were identified as most exemplifying team spirit and going over and beyond their responsibilities to contribute to the team.

Residence Advisor Team Player of the Year: Heather Sadkowski

Academic Link Team Player of the Year: Karyn Elliot

Residence Council Team Player of the Year: Hilary Taylor

Residence Service Desk team Player of the Year: Craig Kelly

Program of the Year for Section and Residence Wide are presented to the programs that developed, marketed and run a outstanding and successful program in either their section or the residence as a whole.

Program of the Year- Section: Cancer Bake Sale- Floor 14

Program of the Year- Residence Wide: Movember- Project Stache

Listed below are this year’s individual awards with recipients;

Ted Brock Award recognizes an upper-year O’Keefe House residence who has made great contributions to the Housing during their time there, the recipient this year was Mhairi Treharne.

Julia Louie- Memorial Award is presented annually to a Residence Student Leader who has demonstrated exceptional devotion and exemplifies a position attitude, the recipient this year was Erika Kronwald-Debruyn.

Marion Creery Residence & Campus Life Award is presented to a residence student leader that has displayed a passion, energy and commitment to connect the residence community to campus life. The recipient this year was Maya Mboup.

Brian Muscat First Year Student Leader Award is presented to a new leader who has demonstrated strong leadership, an excellent ability to connect with their peers and has gone above and beyond their duties to improve the residence community or the student experience. The recipient this year was Alex McKaig & Danielle Brogan

Liza Nassim Returning Student Leader of the Year Award is presented to a residence student leader who has lead by example, been a excellent role model to other student leaders and has made a lasting contribution to residence and campus life at Ryerson. The recipient this year was Shiloh Lazar.

We would like to take the opportunity again to thank all of our student leaders and congratulate the winners on their achievements.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

OVPS student leadership awards announced

Student Housing leaders acknowledged among Ryerson’s top student leaders

Toronto, ON, March 18, 2011: The office of Vice Provost Students (OVPS) announced their leadership award winners today acknowledging top student leaders across campus in departments contained within the OVPS. The work of Student Housing Services (SHS) student leaders was well acknowledged with 4 leaders receiving top awards at the reception.

Marion Creery Student Leadership Award

This award is named in honour of Marion Creery who from 1988 to 2008 served as the Director of Student Services. It is presented annually to two Ryerson students whose leadership demonstrates passion, creativity, and perseverance in making Ryerson a better place for students to learn and realize their potential.

Maya Mboup was awarded this honour. Maya is deeply committed to helping students develop their academic potential in her work as an Academic Link. In addition, in her work as a Community Leader, Maya has acted as a mentor and facilitator to other leaders in residence. Maya was crowned Miss AfriCanada this year, lead her TRSM debate team to a top finish in a national competition, served on the executive of AEISIC Ryerson, and manages Initiatives A+- a non-profit youth mentoring program she began in her first year at Ryerson. Maya’s extensive leadership has impacted communities within residence, at Ryerson, across Canada, and globally.

Community Development Award

The Community Development Award recognizes student leaders that have helped to build a sense of community through their caring attitude, outstanding interpersonal skills and their ability to connect people to each other and to their community.

Sarah Stockdale was an award winner in this category. Sarah has acted as the Graduate Advisor- Leadership in SHS while completing her Masters in Professional Communication. Sarah has contributed to the residence community by managing the residence hero program, helping to advise the residence council, and introducing a brand new Student Leadership Program (SLP) to residence. The SLP has created numerous ways for first year students to get involved, develop their leadership skills, and create community within residence.

Student Leadership Award

This award recognizes and celebrates the contribution that Ryerson student leaders have made outside the classroom. Recipients of this award will have shown a high level of commitment, lead by example, shown initiative and made a strong contribution to their community.

Lauren Akbar and Kyra Whale were award recipients in this category. Lauren has acted as Residence Advisor and Community Leader within the residence community. Her strong advising skills, passion for people, and commitment to helping any student she comes into contact with in any way she can made her very deserving of this award. As a community leader in Pitman Hall Lauren has mentored and facilitated several residence student leaders and was recently selected in her program of Child and Youth studies to represent Ryerson during an experiential service learning project examining Aboriginal youth issues in April.

Kyra Whale has served for all of her years at Ryerson as a leader on the Ryerson Residence Council. As a floor representative, floor president, Vice-President Events and this year as President, Kyra has lead the council in planning events and building community within residence. Kyra has greatly influenced the development of the council and its’ members and also has a passion for planning events that benefit communities beyond Ryerson including Free the Children.