Wednesday, March 28, 2012

OVPS Student Leadership & Faculty Partnership Awards

Abby Davis, Trevor Coll, Gloria Eid and Manish Rathore were four of twelve Ryerson students recognized by the university this past Monday, March 19 for their outstanding community and campus contributions.
The Student Leadership Awards provide staff in the Vice Provost, Students division with an opportunity to recognize students that have taken on the challenge of being a leader by acknowledging their growth and celebrating their achievements. Student leadership comes in many forms and is acknowledged not only at Ryerson, but in the student's communities. Recipients of this award will have shown a high level of commitment, lead by example, shown initiative and made a strong contribution to their community within Ryerson and beyond.
Abby was recognized for her ongoing commitment to the Ryerson Residence community. The capstone to her experience at Ryerson is her current role as the Academic Link - LLC student leader who works with the Faculty of Community Services LLC. Manish was acknowledged for his dynamic leadership as the Engineering Academic Link, role as a Tri-Mentor & the numerous committees he sits on across campus. Trevor has gone above and beyond in his role as the student leader for the Healthy Living LLC. He has created strong partnerships across campus and is a dedicated staff member to the students who live in his section. Finally, Ms. Gloria Eid, the sole recipient of a community development award from the SHS team was recognized for continued development of the Student Leader Program, creation of the leadership conference for first year students and creativity in bringing new sites of leadership into Residence.
Dr. L. La Frenz
Developed to recognize a Faculty member that has proven themselves a key player in promoting and supporting student leadership education and development. The recipient of the award is a faculty member that has played an important role in enabling and guiding students in their professional and personal development within the scope of student leadership. The faculty member's efforts must be in some way affiliated with a department within the Vice Provost Students portfolio.
Dr. LaFrenz has served as the faculty advisor for the Fashion Living Learning Community located in both Pitman Hall and the ILLC. Dr. La Frenz has been an incredible resource to the Academic Link -LLC leader in offering extra support for unique programming and assisting the AL in hosting the first faculty dinner in residence. The academic programming team is certainly indebted to Lu Ann's contribution in bridging living and learning together in the residence space! Thank you, Lu Ann!

From left to right: Abby, Trevor and Manish received OVPS Student Leadership Awards and far right, Gloria received a Community Development Award. Also, pictured is Dr. L. La Frenz, Associate Professor and Program Director for the Fashion Design Program named the inaugural recipient of the Faculty Partner Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment